Come Follow Me, the Savior Said

The scripture passage for this week is Luke 4 http://lds.org/scriptures/nt/luke/4?lang=eng. What struck me in this passage is how Christ uses his power and authority– to resist temptation, teach the gospel, and heal the sick. Christ is our perfect example, and it struck me at church yesterday that I’d never really studied the scriptures to see the example Christ is giving to me, and to seek to follow it. I’m used to thinking about his love and mercy, and I know that following him requires that I show such love, but I’d never before gone to the details of his life to learn how I should live. So I’ve got a new focus now.

I believe strongly that when I was ordained an elder, and when I was set apart as a full-time missionary, I was consecrated by God to do His work. And as I’ve gone about my Father’s business, and done His will, I’ve felt his Spirit guiding me, telling me where to go, putting words in my mouth. I know that “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor: he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord.”

I know this scripture can be fulfilled in each of our lives as we hear God’s call to us, as we accept the Atonement of His Son and seek to truly become his disciples. That’s the work God wants each of us to do, and I witness that it’s the hardest work and the sweetest work on this earth.

I keep feeling that I’ve reached the hardest point of my mission, that I’ve experienced the challenges and overcome them, and that from here on out there will be smooth sailing. And I humbly say that’s never been the case. There’s always a new challenge, always something new to overcome in myself, something else God points out to me to work on.

My challenges are so insignificant, so minute, compared to what Christ bore for me alone. But I know He cares even for my smallest worries and concerns, that he’s here to carry me beyond myself.

Thursday I was reading from the Book of Mormon with the mother of one of my heroes in India. She’s been hearing about the Gospel for the last five years, since her son’s baptism, but she’d never believed it until she really read the Book of Mormon. But as she read, as soon as she read, she knew it was the word of God.

I helped one of the calmest, funniest people I’ve ever met gain a testimony that Christ is his Savior. There’s nothing in the world that compares to the moment when he told me “I know what He did for me.”

I am glad to be an instrument in the hands of God, to know these children of his, to preach the gospel of His Son.

And the mangoes aren’t bad either 🙂

Love,
Elder Westwood

Leave a Reply

